- The Account Lock feature, which allows you to lock your “YouTube” account with a 4-digit code when sharing “Google TV” or a smart TV with multiple users, is now available to all users worldwide.
- This feature is useful if you don’t want others to see your viewing history.
- Even if you happen to forget the 4-digit code, you can turn off Account Lock by signing in with your Google Account credentials.
On Thursday, September 10, 2026 (local time), YouTube CEO Neal Mohan (@nealmohan) announced the rollout of the account lock feature to all users worldwide, which allows users to lock their “YouTube” account with a 4-digit code when sharing “Google TV” or smart TVs among multiple users.
The account lock feature for “YouTube” on “Google TV” and smart TVs is useful when you don’t want others to see your watch history and other activity. By setting a 4-digit code in advance, you can ensure that only you can log into your “YouTube” account and enjoy videos.
In the unlikely event that you forget your 4-digit code, you can still turn off the account lock by logging in using your Google account credentials.
Source: Google





